Phillips County News - One Nation, Under God

Phillips County Fair 2018 Carcass Results


September 12, 2018

Editor's Note: We apologize for the tardiness of this story. The carcass results from the 2018 4-H and FFA livestock show at the Phillips County Fair are complete. Carcass results are eligible to be submitted to the Steer of Merit program, sponsored by the Montana Stockgrowers; Symbol of Excellence program, sponsored by the Montana Pork Producers Council; and Montana Certified Lamb program, sponsored by the Montana Wool Growers.

For meeting individual carcass requirements, youth winners and the breeders of their animals receive a certificate from the sponsoring livestock organizations and 4-H trophies for first (Grand) and second (Reserve) place exhibitors in each species.

There were four steers out of 26 that qualified for Steer of Merit. The Grand Champion Market Beef Carcass was presented to Tamela Abrahamson. Her trophy sponsor was Kienenberger's Rocky Ridge Ranch. Tamela's beef breeder was Pattison Brothers. The Reserve Champion Carcass was Beau Simsonson with the trophy sponsor by Doucette Ranch Inc. Beau's beef breeder was U2 Ranch Inc.

There was one market lamb that qualified for Montana Certified Lamb. The Grand Champion Market Lamb Carcass belonged to Hoyt Hellie with his trophy sponsored by CHS Big Sky. Hoyt's lamb breeder was Patty Cross. Reserve Champion Market Lamb Carcass trophy was awarded to Sommer Green and the trophy sponsor was Marko and Linda Manoukian. Sommer's lamb breeder was Jeanie Green.

Addison Ulrich Reserve Champion Market Swine Carcass

Twenty-one youth qualified for the Symbol of Excellence swine carcass awards out of 55 swine. The Grand Champion Market Swine Carcass was awarded to Chris DePuydt with his trophy sponsor being Stretch's Pizza. The swine breeder was Camrose Colony. The Reserve Champion Market Swine Carcass trophy was awarded to Addison Ulrich and the trophy was sponsored by Howard and Joanne Hammond. The swine breeder was Travis Smith. Other SOE certificate winners were; Payton and Kendall Clausen, Samme Gibbs, Kenan and Shelbi LaBrie, JR Stiffarm, Caleigh Green, Sonny Gray, Jessa, and Laytin Erickson, Kenzie LaBrie, Kazner Oxarart, Treyton Stiffarm, Kennedy Simonson, Dawson Hammond, Duke Williamson, Steeler Blunt, Eva Yeadon. All youth had the breeder of Camrose Colony. Blake Ozark was also an SOE winner and her breeder was Brenda Murdock Kornfield. Chris DePuydt is awarded the traveling trophy for the Grand Champion Overall Pork donated by the Mingneau family in memory of Jess and Diane Jones.

A congratulation to all of the 4-H and FFA Livestock Exhibitors at this year's fair. A complete listing of the carcass results is available at the Phillips County Extension Office (654-2543) or you can email us at


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018