By Mark Hebert

School, County, and State election updates


February 12, 2020

The 2020 election year is gaining steam with positions coming open and candidates throwing their hats in the ring.

On the State level, incumbent Sen. Mike Lang announced that he has officially submitted the documentation for candidacy of Montana Senate District 17

“I have served the constituents of MT House District 33 and 35 before serving as your Senator in SD 17,” Sen Lang said.

The constituents of SD 17 are from Hill, Blaine, Phillips, Valley, Daniel, Sheridan and Roosevelt Counties.

On the county level in Phillips, County Commissioner Richard Dunbar, the incumbent Republican, has filled his paperwork for election in the commissioner's race, joining republican incumbent Tami Christofferson who filled for reelection for Phillips County Clerk of Court.

The last day for candidates to file for Phillips County Offices is also Monday, March 9, 5 p.m. Any person wishing to file for office who is a registered voter in Phillips County may obtain the required forms and fee in-formation from the Election Office located in the Courthouse at 314 S 2nd Ave West or by calling 406-654-2423.

At Phillips County School, the Malta School District has announced their upcoming school election to be held on May 5, 2020. There are two trustee positions are up for election, both are three-year terms. Those seats are currently held by Kevin Koss and Levi Tatafu.

To file for a seat on the Malta School Board, contact Jane Knudsen, District Clerk for candidate forms. The deadline to file is March 26, 2020.

Whitewater School District has two trustees board positions up for election — those of Michael Hammond and Brent Anderson — and the forms for that election can be picked up in the Whitewater School’s Clerk's Office. Both trustee positions are for three years.

Like Whitewater, Saco School also has two trustees positions up for election, those currently held by Jay Yeska and Aaron Albus. Elections forms can be picked up at the Saco School’s Clerk's Office.

Dodson School also has two trustees spots up for election, that of Bonnie Lankford, a 3 year term, and Berta Anderson, a 2 year term. Elections forms can be picked up at the Dodson School’s Clerk's Office.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/01/2020 18:06